Professional promotion

Hospital Clínic de Barcelona established a Professional Promotion System (PPS) for doctors in 1996. The PPS was the first of its kind to be put in place in a Spanish hospital and was inspired by the principles of what in the 1990s was called the "Professional Career for Medical Personnel". The PPS is fully in line with the framework established in the Healthcare Professions Law of November 2003, where it is referred to as "Recognition of Professional Development". Since implementation of the PPS, the professional promotion routes have become completely separated from those of hierarchical promotion within the medical workforce. The former awards categories, while the latter appoints managerial posts.

"Professional promotion" is acceptance of a new professional category but with no changes in responsibilities. The promotion follows an objective assessment of the pre-established professional merits for each of the categories considered in the system, each having a different salary level.

Professional Categories

The categories, in ascending order, are as follows:

  • Specialist
  • Senior Specialist
  • Consultant-1
  • Consultant-2
  • Senior Consultant

Minimum requirements to be eligible for promotion

The category of Specialist is the first step in the PPS. Doctors may apply for promotion after a minimum of 5 years in the category of Specialist. For Specialists applying for the category of Senior Specialist, periods worked as a Specialist in other public hospitals in the Spanish Health Service will also be taken into account. Once promoted, they must work for a minimum of 5 years in the new category before being eligible for the next promotion, and so on. Candidates may only apply for the category immediately above their own. The recognised categories are not subject to review and nor are they reversible.

Requirements for obtaining promotion

The Promotion Committee has objective evaluation scales for each of the categories in the PPS which establish the necessary merits to gain admission to a particular category and are available to the medical personnel; the higher the category, the higher the demands.

The evaluation system includes 35 parameters grouped into 6 broad areas (merits in healthcare, merits in research, teaching merits, continuing education merits, participatory merits and merits due to personal skills and competence). To obtain promotion, the doctor has to achieve the minimum scores established for particular parameters, for each section separately and overall which correspond to the category being applied for.

Promotion Committee

The promotion Committee is made up of:

  • The Medical Director, who presides the committee.
  • Eight members of the Medical Board, elected by universal suffrage among all the hospital's medical staff.
  • A representative of the Physicians Committee.
  • A representative of the Physicians Committee Professional Association.

The Committee is responsible for drawing up and modifying its own internal operating rules and the merit assessment system, announcing the annual promotion opportunities, assessing the candidates and awarding the promotions. Decisions relating to promotion of physicians require the agreement of a least eight of the eleven members.