Nursing Organisation

Areas of activity

The Nursing Directorate has three broad areas of activity:

Nursing Technical Committee

The Nursing Technical Committee is the decision-making body. It is presided over by the Director of Nursing and is made up of the heads of Nursing Management and the Nursing Directorate Deputies in the areas of Nursing Care and Professional Activity; Professional Development; and Knowledge Management, Innovation and Information and Communication Technologies (ICT).



Institutes and Centres

The nursing responsibilities in Hospital Clínic institutes and centres operate through different management units:

  • Care Units: which come under the charge of Care Coordinators.
  • Patient Manager of each Institute and/or Centre: responsible for managing patient movements with continuity of care and operating efficacy (waiting beds, admissions, patient transfers).
  • Advanced Practice Nurse Consultants: healthcare professionals with considerable levels of clinical skill and competence who are highly experienced in dealing with complex situations. Their role involves theoretical and practical activities based on scientific evidence and they practice with a high degree of autonomy and responsibility.

 The Institutes and Centres are organised into specialist areas:

  • Clinical Biomedical Diagnosis Centre, CDB.
  • Clinical Imaging Diagnosis Centre, CDIC.
  • Clinical Institute of Medical and Surgical Specialties, ICEMEQ.
  • Clinical Institute of Gynaecology, Obstetrics and Neonatology, ICGON.
  • Clinical Institute of Digestive and Metabolic Diseases, ICMDM.
  • Clinical Institute of Haematological and Oncological Diseases, ICMHO.
  • Clinical Institute of Medicine and Dermatology, ICMiD
  • Clinical Institute of Neurosciences, ICN.
  • Clinical Institute of Nephrology and Urology, ICNU.
  • Clinical Institute of Ophthalmology, ICOF.
  • Thoracic Clinical Institute, ICT.